Garagista - Garage owner - Garage worker…

Marty Brant was born in Otahuhu, a suburb of Auckland NZ, in December 1964.
His early years were spent with his family travelling around New Zealand’s North Island attending and spectating at all of the Major race meetings of that era.
Around 1970 the family got involved with local racer Reg Cook and his team and from there the seeds were sown for what has become a life long passion and career in motorsport.

The very early years were spent watching and listening, dreaming, doing odd jobs, washing parts in the parts washer with #1 racing fuel...until at 14 he was allowed to start travelling and working at the track with the team.

Following is a brief look at where the next 33 years have gone.

1978 to 1983 - Cook Motor Racing, Reg Cook. NZ.
Shell Sport series / Benson & Hedges Endurance races
Formula Pacific series / National Rally Championship.

1984 / 1985 - Pinto Trailers Racing, Glenn Clark. NZ Formula Ford series
Glenn Clark / Bob Holden, Nissan Mobil series.
Reg Cook / Dealer Team Nissan, National Rally Championship, WRC.NZ

1986 / 1987 - Team Nissan New Zealand, Graeme Bowket / Kent Baigent. NZ.
NZ Touring Car series / Simpson series.
ATCC / 2 x Bathurst.

1989 - Medeckie Motorsport. Andrew Medeckie / Andrew Bagnal
ATCC / 1 x Bathurst.

1990 to 1992 - Nissan Motorsport. Jim Richards / Mark Skaife
ATCC 3 x Series Champions.
3 x Bathurst (2 x wins 1991, 1992)
Australian Drivers Championship (Formula Brabham)

1993 - Robin Best Racing.
Tropic Coast Racing.
Australian Nascar series.

1994 to 2001 - Gibson Motorsport
Jim Richards / Mark Skaife
Greg Murphy / Steven Richards
Darren Hossack / Darren Pate / Steve Ellery
V8 Supercar series. Series Champions 1994.
7 x Bathurst (1 x win 1999)
Australian Production Car series. (Class Wins at Bathurst 1999, 2000)
Australian Drivers Championship (Formula Holden)

2001 - Started Independent Race Cars – Australia.
Manufacturing Cars and components for various teams in all series.
Built various cars including 2 x Mustang Cobra R’s for Procar series and Concept car for Eurovox.

2002 - IRC Race Team competing in Konica V8 Supercar series.
Driver: Paul Dumbrell.
5 round series.
5 poles. 13 wins from 15 starts. 4 round wins. Series Champions.

2003 - IRC, Konica V8 Supercar series.
Mark Porter. 3rd in series.

2004 - IRC, Konica V8 Supercar series.
Tony D’Alberto. 8th in series.

2005 - IRC/Blast Rally Team Victorian Rally Championship.
JustinDowel / Matt Lee, State Champions

2006 / 2007 - IRC contracted by Rod Nash Racing to run the Autobarn
Raceteam in the V8 Supercar main series. Driver Steve Owen.

2008 - IRC. V8 Supercar Development Series
Michael Trimble and Jack Perkins.

2009 - IRC assist Adam Wallis to win V8 Touring Car Series/Shannons Nationals.